EDUCATION MALAYSIA GLOBAL SERVICES (EMGS) 31st December 2021

UPDATE ON THE TEMPORARY ENTRY BAN ON FOREIGNERS FROM SEVERAL SOUTHERN AFRICAN COUNTRIES

1. PURPOSE

- 1.1 EMGS would like to provide an update on the bulletin sent out on 2nd December 2021
 'Temporary Entry Ban of Foreigners from Several Southern African Countries'.
- 1.2 The bulletin from EMGS dated 2nd December 2021, stated that travellers from eight
 (8) countries from Southern Africa have been temporary restricted from entering
 Malaysia due to the spread of the Omicron variant of COVID-19.

2. IMPLEMENTATION

- 2.1 Beginning 29th December 2021, Ministry of Health Malaysia has lifted the temporary travel restriction for the eight countries that were temporarily banned. The countries are:
 - South Africa

• Malawi

Mozambique

- Botswana
- Eswatini

• Zimbabwe

Namibia

- Lesotho
- 2.2 Travellers from these eight (8) countries will be allowed to travel again into Malaysia. However, these countries will be listed as high-risk countries along with the other existing ten (10) countries in the list. The countries are United Kingdom, United States, Australia, Saudi Arabia, Norway, France, Denmark, India, Canada, and Nigeria.

- 2.3 Travellers (inclusive of International Student) travelling from these eighteen (18) countries are required to:
 - a) Undergo an RT-PCR COVID-19 test at least two (2) days prior to the departure date.
 - b) Undergo an RT-PCR COVID-19 test upon arriving in Malaysia.
 - c) Travellers will be equipped with the digital tracker upon arriving in Malaysia.
 - d) Mandatory quarantine: seven (7) days for fully vaccinated or ten (10) days (unvaccinated).
 - e) Quarantine location will be either at the designated quarantine station or home quarantine, subject to Home Quarantine Application (HQA) status.
 - f) PCR COVID-19 test on the fifth (5th) day (for seven (7) days quarantine) or eighth (8th) day (for ten (10) days quarantine)
 - g) Risk assessment on the last day of the quarantine period (either on the seventh (7th) or tenth (10th) day. The quarantine duration will be extended if the individual is symptomatic.
 - h) Released from quarantine on the eighth (8th) or eleventh (11th) day if tested negative on fifth (5th) or eighth (8th) day
 - Daily RTK-Ag Self-test during quarantine and report test result on MySejahtera (only applicable for Travellers from the United Kingdom)
- 2.4 Kindly note that the entry requirements to enter Malaysia is still subjected to the prevailing Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) set by the Government of Malaysia.

Education Malaysia Global Services 31st December 2021