## EDUCATION MALAYSIA GLOBAL SERVICES (EMGS) 29<sup>th</sup> NOVEMBER 2021

## TEMPORARY ENTRY BAN ON FOREIGNERS FROM SEVERAL SOUTHERN AFRICAN COUNTRIES

## 1. PURPOSE:

- 1.1. The purpose of this bulletin is to provide an update regarding the announcement made by Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin on 26<sup>th</sup> November 2021 regarding several preventive steps and border control that will be implemented by the Malaysian Government.
- 1.2. These preventive steps and border control will be enforced as precautionary measures due to the recently discovered B.1.1.529 strain of Covid-19 first detected in Southern Africa which has been categorised as "Variant Under Monitoring"

## 2. IMPLEMENTATION:

- 2.1. Beginning 27<sup>th</sup> November 2021, the Malaysian Government will impose a temporary entry ban on foreigners (including International Students) who have a travel history within the last 14 days from several Southern African countries mentioned below:
  - South Africa
  - Botswana
  - Eswatini
  - Lesotho
  - Mozambique
  - Namibia
  - Zimbabwe
- 2.2. Other measures implemented by the Malaysian Government includes prohibiting Malaysians from visiting the Southern African countries mentioned above.
- 2.3. Malaysians and foreigners with Permanent Residence (PR) status would be allowed to enter the country but will be subjected to a 14-day mandatory quarantine at designated stations regardless of their vaccination status. These individuals will not be allowed to undergo home quarantine.

Education Malaysia Global Services 29<sup>th</sup> November 2021